Easy Lemon Cupcakes

I don’t know about you, but I love lemon drizzle cake… it is delicious and moist and tangy… just perfect with a nice cuppa.. So, as a little surprise this week, I decided to make cupcake versions of this tasty sweet treat…. They are so easy to make, and in fact, you can use this recipe as a base for other cakes – I use the same for carrot cake, but of course add grated carrot to the mix. If I don’t have butter, or if I forget to take my butter out of the fridge and it’s absolutely rock hard, I use the same amount of sunflower oil in its place (which actually is better for carrot cake).  This essentially is the basic recipe for Victoria sponge cake minus the vanilla essence. I hope you try this recipe and let me know how you get on!

Easy Lemon Cupcakes

Makes 12 good size cupcakes

You will need a mixing bowl, electric whisk (or wooden spoon if mixing by hand), 12 muffin size cases (I didn’t have any so I used some foiled parchment paper), 2 spoons

8oz unsalted butter (at room temperature ideally)
8oz caster sugar (White or Golden is fine – I used golden as didn’t have any white)
4 eggs beaten
Grated zest of 1 lemon, or add a bit more if you like yours extra lemony (I do!)
8oz self raising Flour

For the drizzle:
Juice of 1 lemon
3 tablespoons of caster sugar

Pre-heat oven to 170 degrees

Method:
1. Cream the butter and sugar together until it is nice and fluffy either using a whisk or wooden spoon
2. Add beaten eggs and mix in throughly using electrick whisk or wooden spoon
3. Sift in flour, a little at a time and fold gently into the mixture using a large spoon. Try to move the spoon around in the shape of a number 8, gently lifting the mixture up and folding the flour in, try to keep the mixture airy
4. Using 2 spoons, carefully fill your cupcake cases
5. Place in hot oven for 20 mins – check and if needed, continue to cook for another 5 mins
6. In the meantime, make your lemon drizzle by mixing the lemon juice with the caster sugar
7. Remove the hot cakes carefully and using a fork or skewer, make holes in the cakes so that your drizzle will soak in
8. Drizzle your lemon juice & sugar mix over the cakes using a spoon and leave to cool in the tin

Yummy yum!

 

Leave a Reply

